top of page
Writer's pictureEzra Wingard

Why I Stayed In Cog Sci

Throughout my undergraduate career getting my Bachelor's of Arts in cognitive science and psychology, I have experienced a lot of things (both good and bad). Some classes were more challenging than others, and to add on top of that I have been doing a lot of research and working a part-time position for virtually my whole college career at SUNY Oswego. So, a pressing question that I had to answer to myself many times, is why should I stay in cog sci?


Firstly, the professors are the best of the whole university. I have only had the best interactions with all of the cog sci faculty. Specifically, I first chose to stick with the program when I was taking COG166, or Introduction to Cognitive Science. The first day, I realized the true reality of what I was getting myself into: an interdisciplinary field with a heavy emphasis on computer science and computation. Personally, computer science used to scare me. A lot. It honestly still does, because there's so much that I don't know or understand well. But my professor at the time, Prof. Vampola, taught me that it's not much to be afraid of, and if anything, it should be regarded as a guiding light. My other cognitive science professors have made my time at SUNY Oswego more meaningful, through collaborations on research projects to advice on college classes, graduate schools, and even career choices from Dr. Lindstedt. I don't think I would be the same person I am today without the cog sci faculty.


Another reason I chose to stick with cognitive science is because of what I mentioned a little bit of above: computation and computer science. I know that may sound a little wacky because I am scared of it after all, but the comp sci background I have recieved here has helped me understand more about the brain and cognition than I had previously realized. Not only that, but for virtually any career I would get and be passionate about, I would have to use some form of programming to get the best use of it.


Lastly, I chose to stick with cog sci because of the coursework. I have taken so many classes that have broadened my world view (and view of cognition) in beneficial ways. Most of my favorite classes that I have been in were requirements of the major. Even though there were a lot of intellectually challenging ones, I feel that it was all worth it in the end because of how much I have grown and learned.


Overall, I am happy of the choice that I have made to stick with cognitive science, because of all the reasons above, and more. I have made so many lasting connections and learned so many new things that I hope I will never forget. Even though I've had my ups and downs at SUNY Oswego, the cog sci program has been so rewarding that I'm glad I stuck with it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why Cog Sci?

I know a lot of people in my life, including my friends and family, wonder why in the world I would choose majoring in cognitive science...

Comments


bottom of page